Wednesday, February 26, 2020



In The News

Congratulations to the 12 Oregon Players who travelled to Minnesota in October and played in the US OPEN

(Pictured Brian Ancheta/Annie Roberts)

Top Pros Cliff Swain and Rocky Carson took on Our Local Talent Charlie Pratt and Dylan Reid who lost in a 11-10 TB  on the Show court!  It was a tough battle.  Proud of you!

Dave Azuma took home 2 medals: a Gold in 65+ doubles and a Silver in 55+ doubles. Jennifer Briglia took home Gold in 55+ singles and C/D singles, and Annie Roberts took Silver in Womens -24.  We had some representation behind the scenes as well, Kevin Savory was the official photographer for the US Open, Jeff Oliver was in charge of all Media and press releases, and Sara Freeman and Rory Lampe volunteered all weekend.

You can find all the results here...

USA Racquetball 2019 National Award Winners
Two hail from Oregon! 

Oregon is so proud to have two of our very own win some very prestigious Awards

Presidential Award:
Brian Ancheta (Cascade AC)

Presented to the State President who has exhibited outstanding organizational performance in their State. 

Male Athlete of the Year Award:
Charlie Pratt (Multnomah AC)

Awarded to the most outstanding male athlete based on demonstrated performance in the previous twelve months. 
(Awards were presented by Dan Whitley, president of USA Racquetball)

to the

ORA 2018-2019
All-State Team

Mens Open: Jeff Stark
Mens Elite: Blake Ingram
Mens A: Lucas Bain

Mens B: Andy White
Mens C: Jeff Simonson

Mens D: Ben Roberts
Mens 45+: Michael Bern

Mens 55+:  Dan Graham
Mens Open Doubles: Dylan Reid, Tim Prigo

Mens Elite Doubles: Mark Szabo, Michael Bern
Mens A Doubles: Jarren Swazo, Jim Hart

Mens B Doubles: John Ralston, Jeff Simonson
Mens 90+ Doubles: Jarren Swazo, Scott Morrill

Womens Open: Annie Roberts
Womens A: Kareena Matthew
Womens B: Sara Freeman

Womens Open Doubles: Linda Reeves, Laura Morin

Mixed Open Doubles: Michael Stoner, Linda Reeves
Mixed A Doubles: Prem Matthew, Kareena Matthew

Mixed B Doubles: Dan Hoffman, Sara Freeman

Please see one of the ORA Board members to get your $15 tournament voucher.

Latest Oregon Racquetball News...

Congratulations to Oregon State for capturing the Overall Team trophy at the 2011 USA Racquetball Intercollegiate National Championships held April 5 – 9 in Tempe, AZ. The tournament, hosted by Arizona State University, featured 335 student athletes representing 50 colleges and universities from across the country.

2011 marks the fifth time the Beavers have won the national Overall Team award, having previously received the honor in 2010, 2009, 2008 and 2006. OSU did not field a team in 2007. Additionally, OSU earned the top spot in the Women’s Team competition (successfully defending their 2010 trophy) and finished third in Men’s.

Taylor Knoth, a sophomore at OSU, won the Men’s #1 Singles championship, defeating Nick Montalbano, a freshman at Colorado State University, Pueblo, 15-2, 15-10. This victory earns Knoth a spot on the U.S. Adult National Racquetball Team. Knoth and Joey Pryor, a freshman at OSU, finished third in Men’s #1 Doubles, beating BYU 15-5, 15-9.

The Beavers practice at Timberhill Athletic Club in Corvallis and are coached by Rob Durbin.

The University of Oregon placed fourth in the Women’s competition, the school’s best-ever finish. The seven-member team also placed ninth in the Overall Team category.

Oregon’s Leah Redwine, a grad student, and Hailey Miller, a junior, earned third place in Women’s #1 Doubles. Miller also won the Women’s #2 Singles championship, defeating OSU’s Megan Mathes, 13-15, 15-8, 11-9.

The Ducks practice at Courtsports Athletic Club in Eugene.

Here’s a rundown of how students fared in their individual divisions:

Oregon State University


Men’s #1 Singles: Taylor Knoth*

Gold, 1st Place

Men’s #2 Singles: Micah Hoffman*

Gold, 4th Place

Men’s #3 Singles: Joey Pryor

Gold, Quarterfinalist

Men’s #4 Singles: Michael Carrington*

Gold, 3rd Place

Men’s #5 Singles: Jonathan Edwards*

Gold, 3rd Place

Men’s #6 Singles: Dale Fonken*

Gold, 3rd Place

Women’s #1 Singles: Frossene King

Blue, 1st Place

Women’s #2 Singles: Megan Mathes*

Gold, 2nd Place

Women’s #3 Singles: Alyssa Asay*

Gold, 1st Place

Women’s #4 Singles: Teresa Wright*

Gold, 1st Place

Women’s #5 Singles: Kelly Powell*

Gold, 1st Place

Women’s #6 Singles: Stevanie Medearis*

Gold, 1st Place

Men’s #1 Doubles: Knoth/Pryor

Gold, 3rd Place

Men’s #2 Doubles: Carrington/Hoffman

Gold, 3rd Place

Men’s #3 Doubles: Fonken/Edwards

Gold, Round of 16

Women’s #1 Doubles: Mathes/King

Red, 1st Place

Women’s #2 Doubles: Assay/Wright

Gold, 1st Place

Women’s #3 Doubles: Powell/Chelsea Donnithorne

Gold, 1st Place


University of Oregon


Men’s #1 Singles: Elliott Saunders

Gold, Round of 16

Men’s #2 Singles: Ryan Higgins

Red, 1st Place

Men’s #3 Singles: Aaron Halbert

Red, 4th Place

Women’s #1 Singles: Leah Redwine

Gold, Quarterfinalist

Women’s #2 Singles: Hailey Miller*

Gold, 1st Place

Women’s #3 Singles: Staci Wood

Blue, 2nd Place

Women’s #4 Singles: Sydney Prescott

Blue, 2nd Place

Men’s #1 Doubles: Saunders/Higgins

Red, 3rd Place

Women’s #1 Doubles: Redwine/Miller

Gold, 3rd Place

Women’s #2 Doubles: Wood/Prescott

Gold, 3rd Place

* Member of the 2011 USAR All-American Collegiate Team

Three other Oregon residents competed in the tournament. Kamran Masood, a fifth-year senior at Arizona State University, made the Round of 16 in Men’s #1 Singles and was a quarterfinalist in Men’s #1 Doubles. Kevin Funkhouser, a freshman at the University of California, Berkeley, finished fourth in Men’s #4 Red Singles and second in Men’s #2 Red Doubles. Maradith Durbin, a junior at OSU, finished fourth in non-competition Women’s Singles.

The 2012 USA Racquetball National Intercollegiate Championships are scheduled to be held in Missouri next April.

Tournament Draws

Final Team Results


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one!

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.
Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use
All content copyright Oregon Racquetball