Wednesday, February 26, 2020



In The News

Congratulations to the 12 Oregon Players who travelled to Minnesota in October and played in the US OPEN

(Pictured Brian Ancheta/Annie Roberts)

Top Pros Cliff Swain and Rocky Carson took on Our Local Talent Charlie Pratt and Dylan Reid who lost in a 11-10 TB  on the Show court!  It was a tough battle.  Proud of you!

Dave Azuma took home 2 medals: a Gold in 65+ doubles and a Silver in 55+ doubles. Jennifer Briglia took home Gold in 55+ singles and C/D singles, and Annie Roberts took Silver in Womens -24.  We had some representation behind the scenes as well, Kevin Savory was the official photographer for the US Open, Jeff Oliver was in charge of all Media and press releases, and Sara Freeman and Rory Lampe volunteered all weekend.

You can find all the results here...

USA Racquetball 2019 National Award Winners
Two hail from Oregon! 

Oregon is so proud to have two of our very own win some very prestigious Awards

Presidential Award:
Brian Ancheta (Cascade AC)

Presented to the State President who has exhibited outstanding organizational performance in their State. 

Male Athlete of the Year Award:
Charlie Pratt (Multnomah AC)

Awarded to the most outstanding male athlete based on demonstrated performance in the previous twelve months. 
(Awards were presented by Dan Whitley, president of USA Racquetball)

to the

ORA 2018-2019
All-State Team

Mens Open: Jeff Stark
Mens Elite: Blake Ingram
Mens A: Lucas Bain

Mens B: Andy White
Mens C: Jeff Simonson

Mens D: Ben Roberts
Mens 45+: Michael Bern

Mens 55+:  Dan Graham
Mens Open Doubles: Dylan Reid, Tim Prigo

Mens Elite Doubles: Mark Szabo, Michael Bern
Mens A Doubles: Jarren Swazo, Jim Hart

Mens B Doubles: John Ralston, Jeff Simonson
Mens 90+ Doubles: Jarren Swazo, Scott Morrill

Womens Open: Annie Roberts
Womens A: Kareena Matthew
Womens B: Sara Freeman

Womens Open Doubles: Linda Reeves, Laura Morin

Mixed Open Doubles: Michael Stoner, Linda Reeves
Mixed A Doubles: Prem Matthew, Kareena Matthew

Mixed B Doubles: Dan Hoffman, Sara Freeman

Please see one of the ORA Board members to get your $15 tournament voucher.

Latest Oregon Racquetball News...

Get out the broom! It’s a clean sweep for the Oregon State University Racquetball Team, as they earned first-place trophies for winning the Women’s Team, Men’s Team and Overall Team championships at the 2013 USA Racquetball Intercollegiate National Championships! The tournament, hosted by Arizona State University in Tempe March 19 – 23, featured 216 student athletes representing 35 colleges and universities from across the country.

2013 is the first year OSU has won all three team events and the seventh time the Beavers have won the national Overall Team award, having previously received the honor in 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008 and 2006. OSU did not field a team in 2007. This year marks the first Men’s Team championship and sixth for the Women’s Team. The last time a school won both the Men’s and Women’s team awards was 1993 (Southwest Missouri State).

The Beavers practice at Timberhill Athletic Club in Corvallis and are coached by Rob Durbin, who received the 2013 Collegiate Coach of the Year Award.

Here’s a rundown of how OSU students fared in their individual divisions, the team’s most successful tournament to date:

Oregon State University


Men’s #1 Singles: Taylor Knoth*

Gold, 1st Place

Men’s #2 Singles: Joel Barshaw*

Gold, 2nd Place

Men’s #3 Singles: Rick Charbonneau*

Gold, 1st Place

Men’s #4 Singles: Ryan Charbonneau*

Gold, 1st Place

Men’s #5 Singles: Micah Hoffman*

Gold, 1st Place

Men’s #6 Singles: Sam Reid*

Gold, 1st Place

Women’s #1 Singles: Amanda Lindsay*

Gold, 3rd Place

Women’s #2 Singles: Rachel Creel*

Gold, 2nd Place

Women’s #3 Singles: Karissa Beatty*

Gold, 1st Place

Women’s #4 Singles: Stephanie Moyle*

Gold, 1st Place

Women’s #5 Singles: Meghan Foster

Gold, 4th Place

Women’s #6 Singles: Kelly King

Gold, 3rd Place

Men’s #1 Doubles: Knoth/Barshaw

Gold, 1st Place

Men’s #2 Doubles: Charbonneau/Charbonneau

Gold, 1st Place

Men’s #3 Doubles: Hoffman/Reid

Gold, 1st Place

Women’s #1 Doubles: Lindsay/Beatty

Gold, 2nd Place

Women’s #2 Doubles: Creel/Foster

Gold, 1st Place

Women’s #3 Doubles: Moyle/King

Gold, 2nd Place

Three former OHSRL-ers who now attend Brigham Young University also competed in the tournament. Patrick Harris* finished third in Men’s #2 Gold Singles and second in Men’s #2 Gold Doubles. Lincoln Cluff* placed third in Men’s #6 Gold Singles and second in Men’s #3 Gold Doubles. Brian Zundel* earned third in Men’s #4 Gold Singles and third in Men’s #1 Gold Doubles.

Here’s a complete list of tournament results.

The 2014 USA Racquetball National Intercollegiate Championships have yet to be scheduled.

* Member of the 2013 USAR All-American Collegiate Team


Posted in: High School


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one!

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.
Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use
All content copyright Oregon Racquetball